'Best Campervan Experience' 

Jessica & Tom - Cheshire, UK - February 2020

We completed a Road trip along the North and West Coast of Scotland in February. From initial inquiries with Wendy regarding hiring the camper van, customer service was second to none! The van was brilliant, modern and clean will all the essential items for the trip. We will definitely look to book with Red Kit Campers again. Thank you.

Chloé & Arnaud - France - August 19

We spent an amazing week in the super camper van we rented from Wendy.

Wendy is so nice and helpful. She will do everything to make your holidays perfect.

The van is very classy and easy to drive. The inside is practical, comfortable, well-maintained and clean!  There is everything you need to cook, eat and store your belongings.

We are a 3 people family with a 2 years old kid and we all had a lot of fun. We already miss the van and we are looking forward to come back !

We highly recommend red kite campers.
Sure you will enjoy it as much as us.

Joy & Keith - Lennoxtown, Scotland - August 19

Thank you Red Kite Campers for the top of the range Camper van. Me and my husband really had a great time, its spotless brand new and everything inside were just the best. We really enjoyed our holiday and amazing experience with the van. Defo will rent from Wendy again. Very accommodating and so friendly cant fault it. Thank u so much.

Barry - Tennessee, USA - July 2019

Everything about Red Kite is awesome! Wendy was kind enough to not only pick us up at the train but her and Donald returned us to the station when we finished. Already planning our second trip and Red Kite camper van is number one on the list. Thanks Wendy!

 

Gillian & Dave - Baldernock, Scotland - July 2019

Wendy provided a beautifully turned out and comfortable van. It had everything we could possibly have needed for our holiday.
We had a fantastic trip and had no issues at all with the van. We will definitely be back to hire Gallivanter again! Already missing it!
Thank you for the five star service!

Jo - Kirkintilloch, Scotland - June 2019

 

This is a little on the late side, but we had an amazing week away in one of the lovely camper vans. We traveled up to Skye, over to North Uist, up to Harris and on into Lewis. The camper van was so easy to use and comfortable. Wendy was just lovely from start to finish, and couldn’t be more helpful if she tried. Would absolutely recommend Red Kite Campers to anyone. Our little boy loved staying in it and is still telling people about it over 2 weeks on. Thank you so much again for helping us to have such a memorable and fun holiday. 

 

James - Paris, France - May 2019

 

Many thanks to Wendy from all the Parker family. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and thanks for everything. You were so helpful and you made our whole experience wonderful, we recommend Red Kite Campers to anyone looking for a Scottish adventure! 

Claire - Livingston, Scotland - May 2019

Perfect weekend in a perfect VW camper, hired from the lovely Wendy, everything was so well organised and Wendy was so helpful before we went on our travels to Skye, thanks again Wendy, anyone thinking of hiring a van, go to Red Kite first, you won’t be disappointed x 😘🏔🔥

Jen - NSW, Australia - April 2019

Amazing and modern camper van. There is a great sized fridge, two stove tops, a grill, pantry storage and it can easily sleep four. with the raise able roof. There is a cable to hook up for electricity at campsites and a port to easily fill water for the sink. We had an amazing time driving this beautiful camper around Scotland. The driving section at the front seats three people and is a smooth manual drive. We enjoyed every part of our long weekend in this camper van. To top it off Wendy is just wonderful. She is extremely thoughtful and took care of everything for our novice group. We highly recommend red kite campers for your next road trip. Thanks Wendy!

 

Jean & Darren - Washington, Uk - December 2018

Absolutely amazing van and Wendy is sooo helpful, can’t do enough for you to ensure your trip goes smoothly. We went around the North Coast 500 in 4 days during December and we had the best time 😁😍 thanks for everything Wendy, we’ll definitely be back for another trip. Thanks for everything xx

Chris - Torrance, Scotland - October 2018

We had a wonderful week in Wendy’s awesome camper van ‘Gallivanter’ to visit Legoland back in the summer! 

 

Nothing was too much trouble for Wendy and she was so keen that we had the best time in her immaculately turned out van. We certainly did! Thanks so much!

 

We can’t wait to plan our next adventure l!

Alan and Tina - Erskine, Scotland - October 2018

An excellent experience all round, great van, thoroughly recommended!

We decided to go with this provider as the van seemed to be newly converted and we got a good feel from the website, all reviews we read were very good too. We were very pleased with all aspects of this hire and I would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for this type of vehicle.

 

We arranged an early pickup on the first day of our hire and arrived at 9 o’clock, directions to the base were spot on and we found it no problem.  Wendy gave us a cup of tea and spent just under an hour showing us the features of the van, how things work and sorting out the paperwork. I would imagine this could take less time if you were more conversant with these vehicles than I was. I was pleased to spend a bit of time getting to know the features.

 

The van was very well equipped having a fridge, a gas heater (which I didn’t need to use), an electric heater (can only be used where you are on a site with an electrical hook up), a sink with a cold tap (fillable from a port at the side of the van), a two ring burner hob, rear seating for 2 that converted into a very comfortable double bed (if you are taller than 5' 8 this works better with your head to the back door and feet off the end), Lighting and USB charging ports were dotted handily around the vehicle too. The van had cups, plates, kitchen utensils, coffee, tea, sugar. There was a small pot and frying pan there as well, I took my MSR camping pots which I did use as the pot there was not quite big enough to accommodate some of my culinary extravaganzas.

 

The Van drove very well and is plenty powerful enough for all occasions we came across. It returned a fairly consistent 40MPGs despite being taken up hill and down dale (including the formidable Beallach Nam Ba) for six days. If you’ve driven any Volkswagen you will feel very much at home in this. A tight turning circle and compact footprint meant I had no issues parking in a standard parking space, for me these attributes far out way any draw to a larger style vans available.

 

Return of the vehicle was absolutely painless as well taking around 15 minutes and being easy and and pleasant. All in all I would recommend this service to anyone who is looking to hire this type of vehicle.

Heather - Geneva, Switzerland - September 18

Brilliant camper van, amazing Scotland, super friendly owner...

We rented for 6 nights in July, the van was very new, spotless, great to drive and comfortable to sleep in. The conversion is very well done, we had all the equipment and all the space we needed, the only thing we wish we'd added was a camping table as the little table inside is not so big, sometimes we wanted a bit more surface space.

 

At no point did we pay for electric on the campsites - the leisure battery was fine although we were doing a fair bit of driving so it stayed charged, if you were staying put for a few days you might need it. The size is perfect as well, fairly simple to park and to maneuver, unlike the monster RVs you see blocking the roads particularly up on the Isle of Skye.

 

We traveled through the Trossachs, up through Glen Coe, to the Isle of Skye, over to Glen Affric then back down through the Cairngorms and Perthshire - the real advantage of the van is that you can chase the good weather without having to make reservations in advance - hike whilst the going is good and then shut the doors and drive to the next destination when the rain rolls in.

 

At no point did we need to reserve a campsite even though it was late July, although I emailed the sites night before to check that they'd have space (they always did). Wendy was super friendly and responsive to emails and allowed us an early pick up and late drop off because there was nobody dropping off or collecting on the same day, replaced the propane bottle and threw in a couple of camping chairs for nothing. We had a great trip and would definitely book again (hopefully soon....)

Iain - Edinburgh, Scotland - September 2018

We hired the camper van from Wendy for a short weekend break. We had an amazing time. The van is so modern and well equipped with what you need to enjoy your trip ( cups/plates etc)

 

Everything was so simple to use and easy to switch from dining to bedroom.. plenty storage and nice features such as mood lighting making it a cosy space at night. 

 

Wendy was so easy to deal with, helpful and nothing was an issue. Highly recommend. Definitely 5 stars. Thanks again From Gary & Iain

Maddy - Edinburgh, Scotland - July 18 

Van of our dreams!

We were a family of 5 and we had a fantastic week on mull in Wendy’s van. Wendy couldn’t have been more helpful helping us plan on our holiday and providing extras we needed for a family of 5. The van is wonderful and I fell in love with it, the interior the comfort and in particular the larger internal space with the long wheel base.

 

I would recommend hiring this van and you will be looked after very well by Wendy and Donald.

Mandy - Ilkley, UK - June 2018 

Spent the last 6 nights driving the North Coast 500 in Gallivanter, the lovely VW camper van we hired from Red Kite Campers. The van was fab, had everything we needed and Wendy was so helpful.

 

The Scottish Highlands are amazingly beautiful, made even better by the fantastic weather. We will definitely be back!

Chris - St Andrews, Scotland April 2018

A slightly unusual review as I've not yet managed to take my long-planned Red Kite Camper holiday due to snow over the booking period. However I felt I had to post a review just to say how great they have been to deal with, and how great their customer service has been.

I contacted 4 or 5 camper hire people after extensive research, and the initial response from Wendy was by far the most helpful, well priced and welcoming. Throughout the process of booking the van and planning the trip, they provided suggestions for places to visit and really helped me to plan everything thoroughly.

Then when - just days before we were due to take our break - the 'mini beast from the East' brought snow it was clear that a camper break wasn't going to work with young children. I'm sure Red Kite Campers could easily have enforced the booking, but were - instead - incredibly flexible and proactive.

I'm very grateful to the guys for their help, and their brilliant response when things didn't go to plan.

Alex - Glasgow, Scotland - November 2017 

BEST CAMPER VAN EXPERIENCE EVER

The camper van experience was amazing from start to finish. This was our first time ever trying this and we are hooked. The freedom to roam through Scotland was the most memorable and we came across hidden gems through the journey. The Fairypools in Skye, the Oyster Shed, the water falls at Glencoe. And we had our wee kettle on the boil at each pit stop.

 

The van has its own cooker, grill and fridge to accommodate the prosecco and beers along with a kitchen table to have our dinner anywhere we wish to stop. Next year we will be venturing to Wales, and you never know, France in the Spring.

 

The owners are really really helpful and make sure your trip runs smoothly from beginning to end.