*****
'BEST CAMPERVAN EXPERIENCE'
​

JEAN ROGERS  

14 December 2018

Absolutely amazing van and Wendy is sooo helpful, can’t do enough for you to ensure your trip goes smoothly. We went around the North Coast 500 in 4 days during December and we had the best time 😁😍 thanks for everything Wendy, we’ll definitely be back for another trip. Thanks for everything xx

​

​

alandtina1 

Glasgow, United Kingdom

An excellent experience all round, great van, thoroughly recommended!

Left on Oct 22, 2018 for a stay in Oct 2018

​

We decided to go with this provider as the van seemed to be newly converted and we got a good feel from the website, all reviews we read were very good too. We were very pleased with all aspects of this hire and I would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for this type of vehicle.

 

We arranged an early pickup on the first day of our hire and arrived at 9 o’clock, directions to the base were spot on and we found it no problem.  Wendy gave us a cup of tea and spent just under an hour showing us the features of the van, how things work and sorting out the paperwork. I would imagine this could take less time if you were more conversant with these vehicles than I was. I was pleased to spend a bit of time getting to know the features.

 

The van was very well equipped having a fridge, a gas heater (which I didn’t need to use), an electric heater (can only be used where you are on a site with an electrical hook up), a sink with a cold tap (fillable from a port at the side of the van), a two ring burner hob, rear seating for 2 that converted into a very comfortable double bed (if you are taller than 5' 8 this works better with your head to the back door and feet off the end), Lighting and USB charging ports were dotted handily around the vehicle too. The van had cups, plates, kitchen utensils, coffee, tea, sugar. There was a small pot and frying pan there as well, I took my MSR camping pots which I did use as the pot there was not quite big enough to accommodate some of my culinary extravaganzas.

 

The Van drove very well and is plenty powerful enough for all occasions we came across. It returned a fairly consistent 40MPGs despite being taken up hill and downdale (including the formidable Beallach Nam Ba) for six days. If you’ve driven any volkswagen you will feel very much at home in this. A tight turning circle and compact footprint meant I had no issues parking in a standard parking space, for me these attributes far out way any draw to a larger style vans available.

 

Return of the vehicle was absolutely painless as well taking around 15 minutes and being easy and and pleasant. All in all I would recommend this service to anyone who is looking to hire this type of vehicle.

​

​

Scoooobydooooo 

Geneva, Switzerland

Brilliant camper van, amazing Scotland, super friendly owner...

Left on Sep 2, 2018 for a stay in Jul 2018

​

We rented for 6 nights in July, the van was very new, spotless, great to drive and comfortable to sleep in. The conversion is very well done, we had all the equipment and all the space we needed, the only thing we wish we'd added was a camping table as the little table inside is not so big, sometimes we wanted a bit more surface space.

 

At no point did we pay for electric on the campsites - the leisure battery was fine although we were doing a fair bit of driving so it stayed charged, if you were staying put for a few days you might need it. The size is perfect as well, fairly simple to park and to manoeuvre, unlike the monster RVs you see blocking the roads particularly up on the Isle of Skye.

 

We travelled through the Trossachs, up through Glen Coe, to the Isle of Skye, over to Glen Affric then back down through the Cairngorms and Perthshire - the real advantage of the van is that you can chase the good weather without having to make reservations in advance - hike whilst the going is good and then shut the doors and drive to the next destination when the rain rolls in.

 

At no point did we need to reserve a campsite even though it was late July, although I emailed the sites night before to check that they'd have space (they always did). Wendy was super friendly and responsive to emails and allowed us an early pick up and late drop off because there was nobody dropping off or collecting on the same day, replaced the propane bottle and threw in a couple of camping chairs for nothing. We had a great trip and would definitely book again (hopefully soon....)

​

​

Mrs M 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Van of our dreams!

 Left on Aug 22, 2018 for a stay in Jul 2018

​

We were a family of 5 and we had a fantastic week on mull in Wendy’s van. Wendy couldn’t have been more helpful helping us plan on our holiday and providing extras we needed for a family of 5. The van is wonderful and I fell in love with it, the interior the comfort and in particular the larger internal space with the long wheel base.

 

I would recommend hiring this van and you will be looked after very well by Wendy and Donald.

 

​

Voyager53403  

Perfect campervan and first class service

Left on Dec 14, 2017 for a stay in Nov 2017

​

Beautiful campervan with all the mod cons you need. Wendy and Donald were fantastic from the initial booking all the way through till we returned the campervan at the end.

 

They gave us so many tips for travelling in Scotland and advice on where to go and what to see. We would definitely recommend Red Kite Campers and would go back again and again! Thank you.

​

​

awhyte75 

Glasgow, United Kingdom

BEST CAMPERVAN EXPERIENCE EVER

Left on Dec 14, 2017 for a stay in Nov 2017

​

The campervan experience was amazing from start to finish. This was our first time ever trying this and we are hooked. The freedom to roam through Scotland was the most memorable and we came across hidden gems through the journey. The Fairypools in Skye, the Oyster Shed, the water falls at Glencoe. And we had our wee kettle on the boil at each pit stop.

 

The van has its own cooker, grill and fridge to accommodate the prosecco and beers along with a kitchen table to have our dinner anywhere we wish to stop. Next year we will be venturing to Wales, and you never know, France in the Spring.

 

The owners are really really helpful and make sure your trip runs smoothly from beginning to end.

​

​

Chris Cockburn

27 October 

​

We had a wonderful week in Wendy’s awesome campervan ‘Gallivanter’ to visit Legoland back in the summer! Sorry it’s taken so long to write a review!

 

Nothing was too much trouble for Wendy and she was so keen that we had the best time in her immaculately turned out van. We certainly did! Thanks so much!

 

We can’t wait to plan our next adventure l!

​

​

Chris Wallard 

24 April 

​

A slightly unusual review as I've not yet managed to take my long-planned Red Kite Camper holiday due to snow over the booking period. However I felt I had to post a review just to say how great they have been to deal with, and how great their customer service has been.

​

I contacted 4 or 5 camper hire people after extensive research, and the initial response from Wendy was by far the most helpful, well priced and welcoming. Throughout the process of booking the van and planning the trip, they provided suggestions for places to visit and really helped me to plan everything thoroughly.

​

Then when - just days before we were due to take our break - the 'mini beast from the East' brought snow it was clear that a camper break wasn't going to work with young children. I'm sure Red Kite Campers could easily have enforced the booking, but were - instead - incredibly flexible and proactive.

​

I'm very grateful to the guys for their help, and their brilliant response when things didn't go to plan.

 

Iain White

26 September 

​

We hired the campervan from Wendy for a short weekend break. We had an amazing time. The van is so modern and well equipped with what you need to enjoy your trip ( cups/plates etc)

 

Everything was so simple to use and easy to switch from dining to bedroom.. plenty storage and nice features such as mood lighting making it a cosy space at night. 

 

Wendy was so easy to deal with, helpful and nothing was an issue. Highly recommend. Definately 5 stars. Thanks again From Gary & Iain

​

 

Mandy Sawyer 

2 June 

​

Spent the last 6 nights driving the North Coast 500 in Galivanter, the lovely VW campervan we hired from Red Kite Campers. The van was fab, had everything we needed and Wendy was so helpful.

 

The Scottish Highlands are amazingly beautiful, made even better by the fantastic weather. We will definitely be back!

​

​